In the Mountains

I’m in Landour, a tiny hamlet just outside Mussoorie in the foothills of the Himalayas. It’s so beautiful here – to try and embellish that description seems almost pointless. It’s just so beautiful. I’m surrounded by mountains, forests and sky. All is still. I go to school for three classes a day (I feel my brain expanding in order to accommodate so much new knowledge – it feels good), I’m fed three times a day, I have an occasional bucket shower and I sleep at night under two heavy blankets. Life is simple, purposeful; I love it. I feel the quiet, the shanti, inside myself and perhaps it’s this that makes regular writing feel less necessary. I still have things to say – thoughts accumulated over the last six or seven weeks – but I’ll get to them when the compulsion returns, which it will.

And in the meantime I’ll just be here, myself, living in the mountains.

2 Comments

  1. June 14, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    It was heartening to know that you were in LLS. I lived in ITM, Mussorie for about a month and when my classes used to get over, I would walk to Char Dukan to eat Maggie noodles. Although there is no good food to eat at shops around Char Dukan,, the serenity of environment made me feel better. I loved the peace and especially the mist which would surround that place. When I would walk down, I would see students sitting in front of school and learning/practicing Hindi. Sometime I would ponder over the fact that is it really worth coming all the way from homeland to learn a language. But I guess it was more than just learning a language. As you pointed out that you felt your brain expanding for accomodating more knowledge, it comes out as one of the reason which makes it worth. Where did u stayed in Landour and how u used to go to attend classes? Was it by hiring/renting a cab/taxi?

  2. michele occhipinti said,

    September 21, 2008 at 11:24 am

    hello, I’m about to leave italy for the third time and fly to India, but this time i’ll be studying at the LLS in mussorie, does any of you have a guesthouse or so to recommend? I’ll be there in the winter months and I would really love to find a room not too far from the school…
    thanks michele


Leave a comment